Ruthless Magic

First of all, let me thank Netgalley and Another World Press/ Spells & Stars Books for the chance to read and review this book: Ruthless Magic.
As always, these thoughts are my own. This review is spoiler-free and no main plot points are revealed.

I give this story 2.75 stars.

Synopsis:

In the contest to keep their magic, the only options may be die… or kill.

Each year, the North American Confederation of Mages assesses every sixteen-year-old novice. Some will be chosen. The rest must undergo a procedure to destroy their magical ability unless they prove themselves in the mysterious and brutal Mages’ Exam.

Disadvantaged by her parents’ low standing, Rocío Lopez has dedicated herself to expanding her considerable talent to earn a place in the Confederation. Their rejection leaves her reeling—and determined to fight to keep her magic.

Long ashamed of his mediocre abilities, Finn Lockwood knows the Confederation accepted him only because of his prominent family. Declaring for the Exam instead means a chance to confirm his true worth.

Thrown into the testing with little preparation, Rocío and Finn find themselves becoming unlikely allies—and possibly more. But the Exam holds secrets more horrifying than either could have imagined. What are the examiners really testing them for? And as the trials become increasingly vicious, how much are they willing to sacrifice to win?

The first in a new series by USA Today bestselling author Megan Crewe, Ruthless Magic combines the magic of Harry Potter with the ferocity of The Hunger Games alongside a poignant romance. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Holly Black, look no further for your next urban fantasy fix!

Wow, that’s a pretty low rating, even for me.

This book just… it has great ratings, but… I was bored. Just plain bored. None of the characters felt interesting to me, and it just seemed like a rehash of The Hunger Games plus magic. Which was awesome for the first third or maybe half of the book but I honestly just lost interest.

I think it was me; I was just really bored with this story. I hope you like it, and I’ll definitely read more of this author, but I’m not here to read magical fanfics of Hunger Games.

Have you read it? Was I just in a bad mood or something while I was plowing through this story?